Malta forms Part of the EU. Every EU citizen is entitled to travel freely around the Member States of the European Union. No special formalities are required to enter an EU country. This fundamental right extends to members of the EU citizen’s family, and applies regardless of their situation or the reason for travel or residence.

Also, on 21 December 2007 Malta joined the Schengen system at the end of a gradual process of adjusting to the common visa regime provided by the Convention Implementing the Schengen Agreement.

While strengthening the common external border, there was a parallel and gradual removal of internal border controls, giving total freedom of movement within all the territories of the Schengen agreement signatory states: the establishment of what has become known as the Schengen Area.

For further information you may visit the Malta Foreign Office website : –